Physical exfoliants, as opposed to chemical exfoliants, slough off dead skin cells manually. I prefer the chemical process, but occasionally I partake in a physical scrub. Today, it’s Farmacy’s New Day Gentle Exfoliating Grains versus Dermalogica’s Daily Superfoliant AGE Smart.

Farmacy’s New Day came to my attention from  a Reddit AMA with Charlotte Cho, owner of a k-beauty online boutique. When I asked her to share her current routine, she did list it, and it surprisingly included a mix of Western and Asian brands. This specific scrub was one of them. I love it, it’s definitely the most gentle scrub I’ve used. It feels soft and creamy, but still clean. After using it, my skin looks smoother, calmer (less red), and more glowy. I’ve used it close to other exfoliants in time and it really is gentle, it did not dry out or irritate my skin. It also smells lovely in a cozy, hearty way. Bought at Sephora.

My thoughts on Dermalogica’s Superfoliant demonstrates why I write a journal as opposed to a blog. I can’t recall much about this product. I used it on bith my face and body as a test. It smoothed my body skin texture and got it feeling clean like never before. The powder feels grittier than New Day, but my face didn’t feel any more harshly scrubbed than when using Farmacy’s New Day.  I think it could be used everyday. It’s expensive though, so I will not be purchasing. Deluxe sample at my spa. 

Which one is bulletproof? Farmacy’s New Day is my clear favorite, but I have no problems wih Dermalogica’s Superfoliant outside its high price. 

