With all the various ingredients on the market in skincare, it’s hard to know what to focus on – green tea, honey, ceramides, snail, hyaluronic acid, vitamin a though f, peptides, sake, charcoal, etc. 

I’ve decided to simplify matters and focus on just four areas when it comes to my specialty skincare products (excluding cleansing and moisturizing).

1. AHA – To chemically exfoliate, helping prevent troubled skin and to increase cell turnover. I use Pixi’s Glow Tonic for this and I have no plans to change. If Pixi ever discontinued this, I’d look at Deciem’s The Ordinary acids or CosRX’s AHa 7 Whitehead Power Liquid

2. BHA – To clean pores using salicylic acid and prevent troubled skin. I use CosRX’s BHA Blackhead Power Liquid

3. Vitamin C – Vitamin C does million and one amazing things for your skin, from protection to brightness. There are many products offering This as a star component. Of the ones I’ve used already, I like OST and Deciem the most. I am interested in trying vitamin c offerings by Timeless, Melano, Holy Snails, and Cosrx.

4. Hyperpigmentation – To address my PIH brown spots, discolorations, scars and so on resulting from breakouts, sun damage, etc. The main weapons I want to utilize are the melanin inhibitors Gothamista mentioned in her PIH video: Niacinamide, Arbutin, Kojic Acid, Green Tea, and Licorice. I’ve listed the serums I’m looking at for this in my mini review of Shark Sauce.

I want to address anti-aging as well, but I have not decided how I’ll be addressing that. Perhaps with peptides or retinol

