This my first batch of products from Deciem’s The Ordinary brand. After 3 months of use, the most regularly used product is about half-full. They have bare bones, simple but good products, and the price is so reasonable that it is not wasteful to cease use of a product that’s not right for one’s skin. Of the three I’ve tried, one was great, one was OK, and the one was awful.

  1. The Ordinary’s 100% Organic Cold-Pressed Rose Hip Seed Oil – This is a keeper. I use this at night after serums and before moisturizers. About 4-5 drops is perfect. It also mixes well with every single moisturizers I’ve put it in – Cosrx, Trader Joes, and Kiku Masamune. My skin looks and feels hydrated the next morning. I’m starting to use a little of it in tje morning too. It’s fine under makeup if I use half the amount and mix it with moisturizer. $9.80 at Deciem’s website.
  2. The Ordinary’s Vitamin C Suspension 23% – All the negative reviews of this, it’s all true. Like a bad movie adaptation, its core ingredients are good, but execution is terrible. I didn’t mind its gritty texture, but it never fully absorbed into my skin, no matter whether I used nothing, toner, or first essence to prep. You can feel it sitting on your skin, even after a full night of sleep. Worse of all, because it does not absorb, it spreads onto my sheets and clothes as I sleep, leaving discoloration on my fabrics. I did not finish the tube and have ordered TO’s ATS 20% in Vitamin F as a replacement. $5.80 at Deciem’s website. 
  3. The Ordinary’s Hyaluronic Acid 2% – This was OK, a bit sticky. I’m not purchasing again because I saw Liah Yoo’s video discussion of HA where she explains that HA is great in a humid environment because it pulls moisture from the air, but in a dry climate it pulls it from your body. Since I live in souhern California, a dry desert-beach climate, I don’t think it’s effective. $6.80 at deciem’s website.

 

