I’m an eyeshadow minimalist. I like colors I can just swipe on and go. Here are two palettes I’ve tried for at least the last 6 months:

1. Pacifica Enlighten Eye Brightening Eye Shadow, $12 at Target or a healthy food market like Mothers or Sprouts.

The dark purple and lightest sand colors are my go to colors for everyday. The shadow applies smoothly, with no pilling, using my fingers. Color blend so seamlessly that I can apply this without looking in a mirror and it still looks good. My only gripe is that the packaging is a simple cardboard case with no secure snap closure in a long shape that’s inconvenient to port around, and it doesn’t come in singles.

2. Amy Nadine Renewing Nude Eyeshadow Palette, $16 at Costco

I’m sure this is a great shadow set for 99.9% of the population, but I can’t figure it out. It never seems to look good on my skin no matter what style I use. On the positve side, it has wonderful color payoff and lasts a long time (better than Pacifica above) with primer, has all these good-for-you components I’d like to see in other brands, and comes in a gorgeous rose gold case. But it does not personally suit me, so I will not be using it anymore.

Next up: Hot pink lipstick, red lipstick, cleansers, and toners.

