Every skin type can exfoliate, but what kind of product you use for your skin type is key. Scrubs are awful for troubled skin because they irritate already inflammed skin and make post-inflammatory scarring more severe. Thus, this will be my last scrub review, unless my skin changes when I hit my 30s (which is very common). For my skin type, I will be sticking to peels and AHA exfoliants.

St Ives is most well-known for its popular Apricot Scrub line. Oddly enough, their Apricot scrubs are some of their most poorly formulated products, according to Beautypedia. I have to agree with their review of the St Ives Apricot Blemish & Blackhead Control Scrub ($4). The scrub feels like sandpaper. It’s painfully more harsh than any of the other Apricot Scrubs. I saw no improvement in my complexion, or in the complexion of my friend who also used it. Though it is notoriously loved among the common population, it is infamous with estheticians and dermatologists for being a harmful scrub that creates microscopic tears with its walnut shell shreds.

The St Ives Green Tea Scrub ($6) fared better. While still a strong scrub, it was not as abrasive as the Apricot one. The grains were smoother and smaller than the Yes to Tomatoes Scrub, but not as finely milled as the DHC Facial Scrub. It also trumps the Yes Tomatoes Scrub as the Green Tea granules don’t irritate the eye as much.

If my skin type changed right now and I could safely use a scrub again, I would still choose my current favorite, the Skinfood Black Sugar Mask. But the St Ives Green Tea would be second choice. I wouldn’t recommend the St Ives Apricot one to anyone with congested or sensitive skin, regardless of how popular it has become. Your skin is not stone, to be polished roughly; it’s an organic, layered surface that can be torn up if treated viciously.

