Over the last 7 months, I’ve been able to use all the BB creams from my summer haul of 2011 bought while living in Japan and Korea. Now that I’ve had more time to compare and contrast, I have a better idea of what to expect from a BB cream and have revised all my old reviews to be more fair/critical. The original problem was that I, like many others, did not know what a BB cream was.

What is BB Cream?
Created in Germany and popularized in Asia, it is a unique makeup product that is in between a tinted moisturizer and foundation, with hydrating, anti-aging, and sunblock aspects. It provides more coverage than a tinted moisturizer, but less than a foundation. It is healthier than a foundation, but more condense with ingredients than a sheer tinted moisturizer. It is not a replacement for your regular moisturizer. It is makeup, so please don’t pile on more makeup on top of it. It is not a miracle worker, but you may end up loving it anyway. It is medium-coverage makeup with a lot of practical bells and whistles.

How do you use BB cream?
After your regular cleansing and moisturizing, apply your primer (optional), then apply your BB cream, dab on BB cream again in spots as a light concealer, then apply a loose setting powder (optional). Your complexion routine is done.

My BB Rankings of 2011 Reviews
1. Kanebo Freshel White C BB Cream
2. Skinfood Peach Sake Pore BB Cream
3. Kiss Me Heroine Make BB Essence
4. Innisfree Trouble Free BB Cream
5. Meishoku MoistLabo BB Essence Cream
6. SANA Pore Putty BB Cream

These bottles are going to last me a long time, despite giving away three, probably until summer or even next winter. Here’s what to expect for my next batch of BB creams – Boscia BB, Smashbox Camera Ready BB, HadaLabo BB, and more Innisfree BBs (I haven’t given up on them yet!).

