I wanted so much to like the Bare Escentuals Big & Bright eyeliner ($7-14). It does so many things right. Unfortunately, it did the one thing wrong that make it completely useless for me.

Pros: Made by a great company that tries to be preservative-free as possible. It glides on incredibly smoothly and the formula does not irritate the eye. In fact, it is the only formula so far that I’ve felt really comfortable putting on the waterline. The liner design is also great in that it’s super thin and light, but sturdy, and contains a hidden sharpener and smudge tip.

Cons: SMEARS HORRIBLY. This short-lasting formula doesn’t just disappear, it falls under your eyes, leaving ghastly raccoon eyes that are difficult to fix up. I don’t usually experience this problem either – I used Makeup Forever’s Aqua Eyes for years and it never smeared. I timed the Big&Bright eyeliner’s endurance while in a well air-conditioned room with minimal activity and found that the eyeliner only last one hour before it started to smear off the lashline. The only thing that kept the liner in place all night was using Elf’s Lock and Seal product, a liquid which makes makeup waterproof/sealed in. I shouldn’t have to use that.

It was returned.

