In my regular routine, there is always a clay mask. The purpose of these masks are to detox your skin, unclog your pores, and generally clear your complexion. Despite using them for years, I have to find one I like. The biggest problem with these is that, with the exception of the DDF one, it’s hard to know if the mask is really working.

DDF Sulfur Therapeutic Mask ($40)
This mask is potent. The smell of sulfur is strong and it’s a good match for people who think most skincare products are not strong enough. The problem is that the mask caused me to break out on the day after I used it, every single time. I probably should have given up after I finished the first tub, but this product has such great reviews that I was hoping my skin would adjust to it, as many skincare products need time before your skin accepts it. It never happened. I used this for two years with poor results. It is very popular with other skincare junkies, so it does work for some people, just not me. Additionally, I got it in my eyes one time while cleansing and it burned for hours. 8( Like many other clay masks, the clay texture dries out after some time in storage.

Boscia Green Tea Mask ($25)
I respect Boscia products a lot because their production facility is more sterile and professional than most hospitals. A Boscia product has never caused me skin to break out or dry out. It’s preservative-free (yay!). The texture is still soft, even after months, possibly because of the tube design packaging keeps it fresh. It slightly tingles on the skin and feels refreshing after washing it off. It’s a nice mask to pamper yourself with, but it’s too gentle to really be effective.

Yes to Tomatoes: Skin Clearing Facial ($15)
This is part of the Yes to Carrots organic brand sold at Target and other drugstores. Unfortunately, Target rarely stocks the Tomatoes (blemish) line, preferring to stock the anti-aging and sensitive skin lines instead. Most Yes to Tomatoes products must be bought online through their official website – which takes forever to ship. Anyway, the mask was unmemorable. I’m sure it smelled nice and felt fine, but I don’t recal anything special about it. Like the DFF mask, it dried out in storage before I finished the tub.

Innisfree Jeju Volcanic Pore Clay Mask (7000 won)
This is one of Innisfree’s most popular products. I wanted to try it after reading an article in Seoul Travel and Culture magazine, a foreigner’s magazine published in Korea, about the major Korean brands and their most popular products. Here’s what the article said:

The Jeju Volcanic Pore Clay Mask works to unclog pores using volcanic ash from Jeju Island. It contains no artificial perfumes, parabens, or mineral oils, like most of Innisfree’s product line.

For the most part, the mask felt good. The texture was creamy and smooth. Like the Boscia and Yes-to masks, I did not notice a big difference in my skin. However, the Innisfree mask had one remarkable attribute: the clay in the tub never dried out. The consistency in its packaging remained the same after months, leaving me to believe that the formula is better than most clay masks. Additionally, onejar lasted me 8 months, from July to February. I would buy it again.

The Rankings:
1. Innisfree Jeju Volcanic Pore Clay Mask
2. Boscia Green Tea Mask
3. Yes to Tomatoes Skin Clearing Facial Mask
4. DDF Sulfuric Therapeutic Mask

