I really like Meishoku’s MoistLabo BB Essence Cream, most so than I thought I would. I bought this at Don Quixote in Tokyo, Japan, for a reasonably good price (a bit cheaper than the other BB creams I bought there). The sun protection provided is a fantastic SPF40 PA+++. The shade I’m trying out is Natural Ochre.

The good: This BB cream has the best color match out of all the other BB creams I’ve used up to this date. I have light skin with golden undertones and the other BB creams seemed to a bit too fair or make me look pale. MoistLabo is the first to have a perfect color match and look completely natural. It does not cancel out any of the inherent warmth in one’s face. It also did not cause blackheads and clogged pores.

The bad: It’s heavy. When I first apply the cream, it takes longer than usual for the skin to absorb it, given that it’s so thick. Indeed, I can often see fingerprints on my skin because it hasn’t settled or absorbed enough. Then, when I’m wearing it through the day, I can feel the weight of it on my face, like a thick mask. the coverage is not good either. It’s less pigmented than all the other BB creams I’ve tried and the finish is not smooth looking. Additionally, I suspect that it caused my skin to break out, but I’m not completely sure that the BB cream was the cause.

Verdict: Great color choices, but its thickness detracts a lot from comfort and the coverage is far too sheer for heavily scarred skin.

